The Phoenix Academy is a Specialist Secondary School for SEMH pupils (Social, Emotional, Mental Health).

As a school we are extremely proud of our curriculum provision that is personalised, aspirational, caring and engaging whist still remaining challenging.

At The Phoenix Academy we provide an holistic, creative and bespoke curriculum tailored to meet the academic and social needs of all our students. The balance of the curriculum is constantly evolving to meet the diverse needs of each individual in our care.

The curriculum is delivered by qualified and experienced staff and as such when you come and visit our school you will see students who are inspired and enthused to learn and are producing work of a very high standard, much of which you will see on display in classrooms and corridors.

To facilitate success for all at The Phoenix Academy we strive to embed learning, creativity and skills for life through our use of latest innovations in learning technology and bespoke intervention strategies that impact across all curriculum areas.

We also offer a wide range of accreditation opportunities which are targeted to enable success. These accreditation opportunities are delivered to students in school from Year 9 onward and are all appropriately resourced to take into account all learning needs and delivered within stimulating learning environments that empower students to succeed.

I hope you can find all the information you need in our website – if not, please do not hesitate to contact me with your query. Thank you for showing an interest.

Kindest regards,


Chris Armond (Executive Head Teacher)


Performance Tables

Click on the link below for the DfE Schools Performance Tables website.



The Phoenix Academy Trust is a charitable company limited by guarantee and registered in England and Wales with company number 08357097. The registered office is at:

The Phoenix Academy Trust

Great North Road



NG31 7US

Mr C Armond – Executive Head

Mrs K Smith – Associate Headteacher

SEN&DCo – Mrs Nicola Todd and Mrs Karen Smith

Designated Teacher – Mrs Nicola Todd

Safeguarding Officers – Mrs Karen Smith,┬áMrs Nicola Todd, Mrs Jo Johnson, Mr Josh Lane